Monday, February 2, 2015

2015 Youth Media Awards Announced!!

The 2015 Youth Media Awards were announced  Monday morning, February 2 during the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Conference in Chicago. 

Highlights from the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) awards include:

Alex Award Winners - given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing.

Margaret A. Edwards - which honors an individual author for their significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens.

William C. Morris Award - honors a book written for young adults by a previously unpublished author.

Michael L. Printz Award - is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

The Odyssey Award - is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. The award is administered by ALSC and YALSA and sponsored by Booklist.

Highlights from the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) awards include: 

Caldecott Medal - is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Andrew Carnegie Medal - honors an outstanding American video production for children released during the previous year.

Newbery Medal - is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

(Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award - honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

More Youth Media Award winners can be found at ALA News.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for posting to Tales from the RAT Queen!