Wednesday, January 20, 2016

National Book Critics Circle Announces 2015 Publishing Finalists

The National Book Critics Circle was founded in 1974 with the purpose of supporting book criticism and literary culture. According to the mission statement, the NBCC "honors outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism and literature." 

The National Book Critics Circle Awards have been presented in March since 1975, honoring the best literature published in the United States during the previous year. The awards are made in six categories: Autobiography, Biography, Criticism, Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry.

The NBCC finalists for publishing in 2015 were announced in a Critical Mass blog post on January 18, 2016: National Book Critics Circle Announces It's Finalists for Publishing Year 2015


  • Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • Eternity’s Sunrise: The Imaginative World of William Blake by Leo Damrosch
  • The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson
  • On Elizabeth Bishop by Colm Tóibín
  • The Nearest Thing to Life by James Wood

  • Catalogue of Unabashed Gratitude by Ross Gay
  • How to Be Drawn by Terrance Hayes
  • Bright Dead Things by Ada Limón
  • Parallax and Selected Poems by Sinéad Morrissey
  • What About This: Collected Poems of Frank Stanford by Frank Stanford
Winners will be announced at the NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception to be held March 17, 2016 at The New School in New York City, NY

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for posting to Tales from the RAT Queen!